Finances & Roadmap

I updated my finances. I do this often to make sure I stay above water until I get a full-time job.

Watching the amount of money I have in my bank reduce month to month without income is a bit nerve racking – but, it’s what I knew would happen and I know I can do this.

money signs

So – here’s the breakdown:

From here until December of 2016, I am giving myself $200 of spending money. This amount should keep me afloat before I get some solid income. Things I am taking into account:

  • Current savings
  • Part-time income forecast
  • Rent & Utilities (March, April, May, June, July, & August
    • Best case scenario I find a sub-leaser for May, June, July, & August
  • Gym membership of $80 for Feb. and March
  • May gas expenses for travel to California

I think I can do it – I’ll keep checking to make sure – if I realize I need more, I’ll pick up a Saturday shift.

money.jpg

Here’s my road map:

January I spent $298, $100 over budget.

Here I think I can reduce purchases at Target/Walmart, reduce grocery purchases. T-mobile and Fed-ex was out of the norm.

1. February – Code learning

  • – $42 for Gym
  • $158 spending money

2. March – Code learning

  • $42 for Gym
  • $158 spending money

3. April – Code learning

  • $200 spending money

4. May – Code learning and travel to California

  • -$300 gas
  • $200 spending money

5. June – Code learning

  • $200 spending money

6. July – Code Bootcamp

  • $200 spending money

7. August – Code Bootcamp

  • $200 spending money

8. September – Code Bootcamp

  • $200 spending money

9. October – Code Bootcamp

  • $200 spending money

10. November – Code Bootcamp

  • $200 spending money

11. December – Job hunt

  • $200 spending money

12. January 2017 – Jr. Front End Developer position acquired

  • I’ll have $1,500 left over following this budget

Goal – First check $1,700!

I can do this.

impossible

Leave a comment