The Host

You’ve always been the cooler one, the detached one.
No more could I give you to make your love equal
to mine.
I’ve always known I’d leave you when realized my worth
and you’d gone off to collect girlfriends like seashells.

I’m fine.

Three years go by.

I befriended you on Facebook, you my first love
A man now adores me, he’s who I should think of
It’s not love I feel, I don’t want to be your friend
You just situated yourself in a room of mine without rent
Often I pass by your closed door on my way through
and I’ve been meaning to stop to check in on you

Now, the door’s wide open
and we stare face to face
Neither one of us leaves
neither one of us stays
Memories play

You’ve always been the cooler one, the detached one.
No more could I give you to make your love equal
to mine.

These hallways are riddled by your presence, the ghost
and I’ve learned to be kind to my patrons.

signed,
the host.

Time for Poetry

Leave a Reply

