Let it Burn

Fire therapy. Feels good to watch my self doubts go up in flames.

First doubt: I made the wrong decision leaving Luke.

  • Regret is normal to feel
  • I want someone who passes the “Traffic Test”

The Traffic Test is passed when I’m finishing up a hangout with someone and one of us is driving the other back home or back to their car, and I find myself rooting for traffic. That’s how much I’m enjoying the time with them

source here

Second doubt: I’ll never be a good writer

  • I’m  going to take a writing course to help with my first novel
  • Whether or not I am good does not matter. What matters is that I do write. And I do it everyday.

One area where I think we are especially distinctive is failure. I believe we are the best place in the world to fail (we have plenty of practice!), and failure and invention are inseparable twins. To invent you have to experiment, and if you know in advance that it’s going to work, it’s not an experiment. Most large organizations embrace the idea of invention, but are not willing to suffer the string of failed experiments necessary to get there.

source here

  • Writers are engineers and inventors of the imaginary world

Third doubt: I’m going nowhere with my life

  • That could be very well true if I let it. It’ll take self growth and commitment to not stay stagnant.

I’m still reeling from the break up, still stuffing my face to make me feel better. But I’m not incredibly sad to where I need to see a counselor (at least not yet). Yesterday, I even mowed the front yard! Back yard is still TBD… A new change to come soon is an adoption of a dog. I’ve been wanting a new dog for years now and I feel right now is a good time. Something new will help sift up the places of old memories. I’m very excited for my old man to have a new brother and for rommies dog to have a playmate. And for me to share my love with a new dog.

Updates to come!

Leave a Reply

